Bombay High Court Judges' Library


ogg video converter by v3.3

During the Portugese rule in Goa, the Portuguese authorities established a High Court in Goa which was designated as Tribunal de Relacao.  After the liberation of Goa on 19 December 1961, the Tribunal de Relacao was abolished and was substituted by the Judicial Commissioner's Court which was the highest Court of Appeal in Civil and Criminal matters. 

Need was felt for the constitution of a High Court for the Union Territory of Goa, Daman and Diu. 
The High Court at Bombay (Extension of Jurisdiction to Goa, Daman and Diu) Act 1981 was passed by the Parliament and received the assent of the President of India on 9 September 1981 to establish a permanent Bench of the High Court at Bombay at Panaji.  The High Court of Bombay became the common High Court under Article 231 of the Constitution for the States of Maharashtra and Goa, Union Territories of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu after the enactment of Goa, Daman & Diu Reorganisation Act, 1987 which conferred the statehood to Goa.

The High Court seat at Goa was formally inaugurated by Honourable Shri Justice Y. V. Chandrachud, the then Chief Justice of India on 30 October 1982. The High Court comprises of five building known as the High Court Complex.  The first building was inaugurated by Honourable Shri Justice M. B. Shah, the then Chief Justice of Bombay on 2 October 1977.  The other building were subsequently built over a period of time.

* * * * *